top of page

Stats on stalking in the UK

In my latest post I wrote about why going no contact when you break up with an abuser is essential to heal.


I know this all too well, as my ex kept harassing me and stalking me over multiple platforms, even a year later. This can have a severe impact on your emotional health, it's a invasive and intimidating behaviour that will make you feel unsafe.


This led me to do some research on stats around stalking in the UK, which I'd like to share with you fully here as well as on my Instagram.


- Over 1.5 million people in England and Wales are victims of stalking every year (Guardian)


- Reports increased by 20% during the lockdown, and by 30% as restrictions eased in the summer (Office of National Statistics, reference on Mirror)


- Most victims were reporting being stalked via social media, messaging apps and email, but physical stalking was happening despite the lockdown (Paladin)


- Over 2K charges took place in 2019 - more than double than five years ago (CPS)


- 84% of sample stalking cases across England and Wales involved complaints against ex-portners (CPS)


- The majority of victims are female. The majority of perpetrators are male (equation.org)


- 76% of women murdered by ex-partners were stalked by the perpetrator in the time leading up to their deaths (McFarlane et al., reference on equation.org.uk)

5 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page